Making time for friends amidst a busy schedule

If you are a glam girl, chances are you are juggling many hats every day! Whether it is work, kids, school, or social responsibilities, it just seems like the weeks seem to fly by and before you know it it has been months since you last saw some of the people dearest to your heart. I have a group of girlfriends with whom I’ve been friends for over 20 years, and even with some of them residing in the same town as me, it is still hard for us to get together.
Last year, I made a resolution to not wait until a major life event for me to make plans to see my friends. Now to ensure that we catch up on a regular, the girls and I use small events as opportunities to get together. Here are some of the gatherings we usually plan:
– Cooking nights – since some of my girls are not big in the kitchen and I love to cook, whenever I have a new recipe that I would love to try, I call a few of them and plan to have them over for a night during the weekend. Each person brings something to the dinner and we usually catch up on either some good DVR or with a good newly released DVD. I would recommend these gatherings especially for the glam girls with families as it is informal and the kids will then have a chance to play together.
– Dinners – if we have been having hectic weeks, we might simply gather together over a nice dinner at a new restaurant that we have been wanting to try. These are especially great because then no one has to worry about the cleaning! These are especially great for the ultimate busy career glam girl who is trying to catch some time with her girls in between work projects.
– Movies – sometimes our schedules are more limited and do not permit for us to catch up as we would normally do. In those days, we would plan to catch a movie together. Sometimes it’s the latest showing possible and usually at the little movie theather around the corner where $15 will get you a ticket and some snacks! However, we still have the chance to get together and let some stress melt away. These gatherings will fit any glam girl and more particularly the one with a budget.
Overall, whether it’s your friends or it’s your family, we all need to catch up with those that are dear to us on a regular basis. They are a part of who we are and have been there with us through the struggles and the successes. Furthermore, I’ve found that my gatherings with my ladies have provided us with with an informal therapy session. I hope that my suggestions will help you spend some time with your loved ones a little more often.

Cheers!

Reese

Leave a Reply

