How to Plan an Amazing Trip on a Budget

March is here and soon this frigid weather (for some☺) will be nothing but a memory and bikini season will be upon us! Every year around this time, I plan a trip to get away from the all the daily stressors and usually plan it with my usual suspects: my sister and cousins! So far my get away trips have taken me to South Beach and Puerto Rico. Each time, I have so much fun that upon my return, I need a few days just to recover from the trip. I know that some believe that in order to have a great vacation, you must go with the flow; however, I believe that in order for a glam girl to enjoy her vacation to the maximum without breaking the bank or having obstacles, a certain amount of planning is required! Before you start planning that trip, here is my first advice to you: be sure that you are able to afford a trip financially and know your limit! Once you have determined these two factors, the fun part will commence. As a glam girl, I am always about having the best experience (whether it is shopping or adventure) at the best price. And to do so, you must know how to shop around! An amazing vacation does not have to include an airfare or a road trip, you simply need to plan some amazing activities that will help you reach your goal for your trip. So here are my tips to have the trip of a lifetime:
Have a budget! – When we took our trip to Puerto Rico last year, our budget was to spend a maximum of $500 per person including EVERYTHING: airfare, rental, lodging, and food.
Shop early! – Sometime you may be lucky and find a great ticket at the last minute however, it generally is not the case, especially if you want to travel during peak vacation times such as Spring Break or summer months.
Shop around! – We all have a favorite airline or hotel, however, sometimes they may not have the best deal on their sites. I always like to start shopping for my tickets on a renowned third party site such as CheapTickets, Expedia, Kayak or Priceline. Once you have an idea of the price tickets are going for, you always double check on your favorite airline’s website to see if they may have a better deal.
Third party lodging – I only suggest this option for a group vacation as one can never be too careful. However, I have used AirBnB for each of my trips and have had excellent experiences with my hosts. The key to using a third party site is to ensure that the information provided is verified by the company. From the host to the pictures posted on the site, you want to make sure that the company, where the lodging is advertised, has a strict verification process. If you are not comfortable with a third party lodging, my suggestion is then to use a third party site for a combo special. Be sure to check out my article on using third party services for more tips here: http://wp.me/p5DKT0-1N
Stock the kitchen! – Yes, it is fun to enjoy having great meals out when vacationing, however, you risk of running a hefty bill if you are having all meals at restaurants! Upon arrival, find the nearest grocery store and buy the essentials and just enough for your stay: bread, milk, cereal, juice, wine, etc. Just be sure to have something quick that you can eat prior to heading out on the town. I always suggest having breakfast items and condiments to make a quick sandwich. This reduces the amount spent eating out and you’re still able to have a fabulous lunch or dinner out.
Research the best activities in the area and plan ahead – For Puerto Rico, I looked for all of the events happening in the Condado (neighborhood where we stayed) area during the weekend that we would be in town and planned our time accordingly. Furthermore, to avoid spending our whole time driving, we dedicated each day to a different area and made sure that everything was nearby.
Whether you are planning on an exploration of your local town or the discovery of a new land with your closest pals, you must always do it in style and smart. You simply need to do your research and I guarantee you that it will be a vacation of a lifetime!

Safe Travels!
Reese

3 thoughts on “How to Plan an Amazing Trip on a Budget

Leave a Reply

